Food & systems thinking

In the UK, I buy and cook my own food most of the time and I normally get them from supermarkets and some local store near my home. I always choose to buy domestic food that produced from the UK that is because the domestic food here is cheaper than import food and the quality is still good. Import food cost more sipping from overseas and it could cause more pollution and of course it would cause more labor. These issues made the imported food more expensive and it is not sustainable and environmentally friendly. That is why I choose to eat domestic food.

However, when I am in HK, I choose to eat import food. Not only me, but everyone else is doing the same thing. The majority reason is that HK is too small to have its own farmland. The fruit, the meat, and even beverage are all import from other countries. The cost of the food is respectively high compared with the UK.

 

 

Leave a Reply

